Expeditions & Encounters with Life. . . by Jewel Anderson

The Civil Wars

I recently saw The Civil Wars play in Lawrence. I am astounded by the power that comes from the simplicity of this duo. Both Joy Williams and John Paul White have an effortless gift of singing. Joy’s voice is like honey flowing from her lips. Her range and control is unreal. I really love when artists have an uninhibited demeanor about the way they move when performing–I think Joy has snipits of that in her. Joy would use her whole body to produce the talent that rises out of her. She would also freely move her body, mostly her hands, around the way a gypsy dancer would. Watching her perform reminded me a lot of Lisa Hannigan when she played with Damien Rice. All that to say, I very much enjoyed seeing them live. It’s refreshing to absorb such pure talent.

One response

  1. jewel. i just love these! the way you tell stories through pictures is unreal. it was like i was there, experiencing it all over again!!

    May 2, 2011 at 2:14 AM

Leave a comment